Electoral System: India | Asia Pacific Greens

Electoral System: India

Government Type:

Federal republic, Constitutional republic, Parliamentary system

Head of State: 

  • Pranab Mukherjee, President. 
  • Narendra Modi, Prime Minister

Upper House total number of seats: 


Lower House total number of seats: 


Electoral Constituencies:

People’s Assembly Electoral Constituencies:
• Appointed (2 seats): No constituencies.
• Directly elected (543 seats): Single-member constituencies are divided among the states and the Union Territories on the basis of population.


1.237 billion (2012)

Number of registered voters: 

834 million (834,101,479)

Parties (node reference): 
Electoral System: 
Plurality (First-past-the-post) • President: Indirectly elected by the People’s Assembly, the Council of States and the state legislatures for a term of 5 years. • Prime Minister: Indirectly elected by Members of Parliament from the majority party following general elections. • Parliament: People’s Assembly: • Appointed (2 seats): Appointed by the President for a term of 5 years. • Directly elected (543 seats): Elected in a single member district plurality system for a term of 5 years.
Election Threshold: 
Election Deposit Requirement: 
No information
Election Management Body: 

The Election Commission of India (http://eci.nic.in/eci/eci.html) consists of a Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners. The President appoints commissioners for a term of 6 years, and can be removed only through impeachment in Parliament.

Quota for women: 

• 11% for the Lok Sabha/House of the People.
• The constitution guarantees the reservation of not less than 33% of the total number of seats to be filled by direct elections in local government bodies in villages and municipalities for women. In addition, within seats reserved in every village council (panchayat) or municipality council for scheduled castes and tribes (the percentage to be proportional to the population of such groups in the respective territory) not less than 33% shall be reserved for women belonging to these groups. At least 33% of the offices of chairpersons of councils is also reserved for women. Reserved seats are allotted to different territorial constituencies on a rotational basis. The constitution further stipulates that ‘the offices of the chairpersons in panchayats, municipal councils and at any other level shall be reserved for castes, tribes and women in such manner as the legislature of a State may, by law, provide’ (Constitution, Article 243D (2), (3) and (4) and 243t). (Source: http://www.quotaproject.org/uid/countryview.cfm?country=105#cview_subnational)