Electoral System: Mongolia | Asia Pacific Greens

Electoral System: Mongolia

Government Type:

Semi-presidential system, Parliamentary republic

Head of State: 

  • Chief of State: Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj, President 
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Norovyn ALTANKHUTAG
  • Assembly: Mongolia has a unicameral State Great Hural (Ulsyn Ikh Khural) with 76 seats.

Upper House total number of seats: 


Lower House total number of seats: 


Electoral Constituencies:

Multi-member constituencies of 2-4 seats in 26 districts corresponding to the provinces and the districts in the capital city of Ulan Bator.


3 million (3,226,516) (July 2012 est.)

Number of registered voters: 

1 million (1,833,478) (June 2012 )

Related Party: 
Parties (node reference): 
Electoral System: 
List Proportional Representation. • President: Each political party with seats in the Parliament may nominate one candidate. The President is directly elected in a two-round system for a term of 4 years & is limited to 2 terms.
Election Threshold: 
No information
Election Deposit Requirement: 
No information
Election Management Body: 

The General Election Commission of Mongolia (www.gec.gov.mn) is a 9-member commission appointed by the Parliament. The Parliament’s Standing Committee on State Structure nominates 5 members, the President nominates 2 members, and the Supreme Court nominates 2 civil servants to be members. Commissioners serve for a 6 year term.

Quota for women: 

According to Article 27.2 of the 2011 Law on Election of the Parliament, at least 20% of candidates on a unified list presented by a political party for both types of contests (majority and proportional) shall be women.