Pakistan's Electoral System | Asia Pacific Greens

Pakistan's Electoral System

Government Type:

Islamic Republic

Head of State: 

  • Mamnoon Hussain, President. 
  • Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister

Total number of Upper House Seats: 


Total number of Lower House Seats: 


Electoral Constituencies:

  • National Assembly: Directly elected (272 seats): Single-­‐member districts divided by province, the Federally Administered Tribal Areas, and the Federal Capital. The number of seats in each is defined in the constitution. Proportional representation: Women (60 seats): 4 multi-­‐member districts divided by province, with the number of seats in each defined in the constitution. Non-­‐Muslims (10 seats): One at-­‐large constituency. 
  • Senate: Provincial Assemblies (88 seats): 4 constituencies corresponding to the Provincial Assemblies of the 4 provinces. National Assembly members from the territories (8 seats): One constituency of the members of the National Assembly from the Federally Administered Tribal Areas. Federal Capital (4 seats): One constituency of the National Assembly. 


193.2 million (193,238,868) (2013)

Number of registered voters: 

  • Presidential (2013): 706 (electoral college votes)
  • Parliamentary (National Assembly "Majlis-e-Shoora")(2013): 84 million (84,207,524)

Upcoming Election: 

Related Party: 
Parties (node reference): 
Electoral System: 
Parallel (Segmented) (PR Lists and Majoritarian constituencies). • President: Elected for a term of 5 years by an electoral college consisting of the members of both houses of Parliament, as well as members of the Provincial Assemblies. Limited to 2 terms. Candidates for President must be Muslim, and members of the National Assembly. • Prime Minister: The Prime Minister is elected by the National Assembly.
Election Threshold: 
The President is indirectly elected by an electoral college to serve a 5-year term.
Election Deposit Requirement: 
Election Management Body: 

Election Commission of Pakistan ( is a 5-­‐member commission appointed by the President in consultation with the Chief Justice of the High Court of the candidate’s province. Candidates must be sitting judges of the High Courts of their respective provinces. 

Quota for women: 

Presidential candidates: no quota
National Assembly Proportional representation: 60 seats are reserved for women are elected in an open party list system for a term of 5 years. .