Taiwan's Electoral System | Asia Pacific Greens

Taiwan's Electoral System

Government Type:

  • Constitutional republic.
  • Semi-presidential system (a system of government in which a popularly elected fixed term president exists alongside a prime minister and Cabinet who are responsible to the legislature of a state)

Head of State: 

Ma Ying-jeou, President

Total number of Upper House Seats: 


Total number of Lower House Seats: 


Electoral Constituencies:

  • Directly elected (73 seats): Seats distributed by county, city or special municipality, and then divided into single-­‐member constituencies on the basis of population.
  • Aboriginal populations (6 seats): 2 constituencies of 3 members each, corresponding to the lowland and highland aboriginal areas. 
  • Proportional representation (34 seats): One at-­‐large constituency.


23.34 million (2013)

Number of registered voters: 

12 million (17,313,854)

Upcoming Election: 

Municipal, November 29, 2014

  • "Nine in One(九合一)elections in Kaohsiung, New Taipei, Taichung, Tainan, Taoyuan and Taipei for: municipality(直轄市長), councillor (直轄市議員) and borough chief (里長), Mayor of mountain aborigines municipalities (直轄市山地原住民區區長) and chief, councillors and borough chief of the indigenous areas, county, city, village and towns (區民代表, 縣市長, 縣市議員, 鄉鎮市長, 鄉鎮市民代表及村里長).
  • Currently 11 candidates are ready to represent Green Party Taiwan in the 2014 elections; they include:
    1. Ming-li Zhang (Keelung) 基隆市議員(七堵選區)參選人張明麗
    2. Chung-ming Wang (New North Taiwan: Tamsui, Sanzhi, Shimen, and Bali) 新北市議員(淡水、八里、石門、三芝選區)參選人王鐘銘
    3. Mu-wan Yang (New North: Tucheng, shulin, Sanxia, and Yingge) 新北市議員(土城、樹林、三峽、鶯歌選區)參選人楊木萬
    4. 桃園市議員(桃園選區)參選人羅岳峰
    5. Tanglin Xiang (Taoyuan and Ping-zhen) 桃園市議員(平鎮選區)參選人湯琳翔
    6. Haoyu Wang (Taoyuan and Chungli) 桃園市議員(中壢選區)參選人王浩宇
    7. 新竹市議員(東區)參選人楊志翔
    8. 新竹縣議員(竹東、五峰選區)參選人周江杰
    9. Yi-zhi Liang (Kaohsiung and San-min) 高雄市議員(三民區)參選人梁益誌
    10. Jing-fan Fu (Penghu ma-gong) 澎湖縣議員(馬公選區)參選人傅靜凡
    11. 台北市里長(文祥里)參選人張安東

Green Party Taiwan's 2014 policy platform:

  1. Abolish nuclear power plants and take nuclear power to zero; 
  2. Open parliament and election reform; 
  3. Gender diversity in marriage and academic institutions; 
  4. Cross-strait human rights agreements.
Related Party: 
Parties (node reference): 
Electoral System: 
Mixed & Unicameral: Parallel (Segmented) (PR Lists and Majoritarian constituencies). • President: Directly elected in a first-­past­‐the-‐post system for a term of 4 years & is limited to 2 terms. • Premier: Appointed by the President. Parliament: • Legislature: single district, two votes system (voters vote for a district candidate & for a party). • Directly elected (73 seats): Elected in a single‐member district plurality system for a 4 year term. • Aboriginal populations (6 seats): Elected in a single non‐transferable vote system for a 4 year term. • Proportional representation (34 seats): Elected in a closed party list system for a 4 year term.
Election Threshold: 
5% of the total vote for a party to be awarded seats in the Legislative Yuan through proportional representation.
Election Deposit Requirement: 
Mayor: $2,000,000 NT City Councillor: $200,000 NT Borough chief: $120,000 NT ($50NT/year/vote subsidy if candidate passes the 5% threshold)
Election Management Body: 

Central Election Commission http://www.cec.gov.tw

Quota for women: 

• 1/2 of Party Lists must be women. (Source: http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/1619/).
• The number of women representatives in Legislative Yuan deciding by Article 64(2) of the Constitution and the number of women in other elected organs also deciding by Article 134 of the Constitution.

Next election date: 
Saturday, November 29, 2014